top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLiving Under A Book

You Were Never Here - by Kathleen Peacock - Review

// Writing - 4/5 // Characters - 3.5/5 // Plot - 4.5/5 // Engagement - 5/5 // Overall - 4/5 //

Intensity Scale - 7 (scale of 1-10) //

You Were Never Here by Kathleen Peacock, is an electrifying novel that will leave you hungry for more. I LOVED this book. I have been extremely busy lately so I have been in a huge reading slump. This book definitely got me out! I was amazed by how suspenseful this book was. It had many jaw-dropping twists and turns that I would've never expected. This book is perfect for fans of Netflix's Outer Banks and Stranger Things. I'm not sure if Peacock is planning to make a sequel, but I hope she does because I would be one of the first to buy! The novel is about a girl names Marry Cathrine. Her childhood friend goes missing and she is willing to do whatever it takes to find him while trying to control and understand her strange abilities. She makes new friends, goes on thrilling adventures and learns that the town of Montgomery Falls holds many secrets.


Writing - I love Kathleen Peacock's writing style. I can't place what it is, but something about it is just different, it stands out from other books I have read (I've read quite a lot). The detailed way she describes everything keeps you on the edge of your seat. It also helps you vividly picture the story in your head. Her ability to make you really think outside the box is amazing.


Characters - The characters in this book weren't very strong. Most of them were pretty basic. They were very similar to the typical characters that are seen often in YA novels. However, that doesn't mean they weren't extremely likeable. I fell in love with every character in this book and grew very attached. The main character Cat was very funny, and unique. The way she directed information to solve these mysteries was fascinating. Even though I loved them, they were pretty generic. I would've appreciated a bit more diversity.


Plot - The plot for this book was executed wonderfully. So much was constantly happening and new things were always developing whether I was aware or not. It was thrilling and exciting, as well as heartbreaking and tragic. There are a lot of plot twists so be prepared! Or don't, sometimes it's more fun that way.


Engagement - Once I got about 100 pages into the book I couldn't stop reading! It is so immersive and exciting. I just needed to know what would happen next. When I saw I was nearing the end I felt a little upset because I never wanted it to be over it was just that good! I have been super busy and have been struggling to stay concentrated on things like my school assignments and reading but this book acted as a cure for that!


Intensity Scale 7 - This book is pretty intense if, like me, you are new to the thriller/suspense genres. There was nothing too graphic; it was mostly how suspenseful the novel was, and some of the disturbing topics included. I was sitting on the edge of my seat for half the novel! It never stopped.


Overall - If you are looking for an intense, and empowering novel you should definitely try this novel. I have officially added it to my list of favourites. It does have some heavy topics such as murder but if that doesn't bother you, give it a try!


Content Warning: Mental health, Death, Murder, Violence


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page