top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLiving Under A Book

This Woven Kingdom - Tahereh Mafi - Review

Writing 5/5 // Plot 4/5 // Characters 5/5 // Engagement 5/5 // Overall 5/5 //

 

Release Date: February 1, 2022


Wow I don’t even know where to start with this book. It was incredible. Tahereh Mafi “shattered” all of my expectations with this book. I knew she was a strong writer from her Shatter Me series but this is something else. For a YA book it has plenty of detailed descriptions and vocabulary. It follows Alizeh, who is a long lost heir to the throne of an ancient Jinn kingdom. She is forced to hide as a servant because of who she is. It also follows Kamran, who is a prince grappling with his role in his kingdom. The two of their lives are intertwined in ways you will soon discover if you choose to read this book.





Writing

This book is filled with beautiful descriptions of people, places and things. Tahereh Mafi manages to make the simplest things seem wonderful. Her incorporation of character development, plot and world building all at once, was very well done. It is very tricky to create a balance between those three things. However, she always does a good job. Her writing pulled me into each chapter in way that I couldn’t resist the urge to continue.


Characters

The characters in this book! They are incredibly well developed. Alizeh was a very easy character for me to like. She is a strong, brave, kind, and powerful young woman. She wasn’t afraid to stand up for herself when she deemed it necessary. She also has plenty of compassion in a world that does not reciprocate that. Kamran was another great main character. He has many things he struggles with and is thrown a lot of new information to make sense of. Throughout the book he shows himself to be an inquisitive person and a deep thinker. All the characters in the book played an important role whether that role be small or large.


Plot

This book was much more plot driven than I had originally anticipated. There were plenty of ups and downs and twists and turns which were really well done. It had me freaking out multiple times. At first it doesn’t seem like much is happening, but once it starts, it starts. I need to know what happens in the next book.


Engagement

I had no trouble with the level of engagement while reading this book. In fact, I could barely put it down. It was your classic, eyes glued to the page, bringing the book with me everywhere I go, and neglecting all responsibilities to continue reading. This book really earned its place in the fantasy world. It is one of the best I have read in quite a while.


Overall

Overall I think this book is 100% worth picking up for a read. It is truly an experience. Tahereh! My heart hurts! The world, the characters, every aspect of this book is amazing. You can also see some social commentary filter throughout the book so look out for that. I loved this book!!! I am still reeling from all the emotions I am feeling.


Thank you to the team at HarperCollins Canada for providing me with an ARC of this book!


Content Warning: Violence, abuse, war

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page