top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLiving Under A Book

Daughter of the Moon Goddess - Review

Writing - 4/5 // Characters - 4/5 // Plot - 4/5 // Engagement - 4/5 // Overall - 4/5

 

If the cover of this book isn’t enticing enough I hope my review is because this book is surely worth the read. The book follows Xingyin the daughter of Chang’e the Moon Goddess. Xingyin has grown up on the moon secluded from the rest of the world. She is being hidden from the Celestial Emperor because her mom illegally drank his elixir, which granted her immortality. One day her powers attract the attention of the Celestial Emperor, requiring her to escape the moon. We follow her on a series of heart racing experiences as she slowly discovers the power she holds. It is an entrancing book filled with strong women and friendship. The vibes this book gives off are so refreshing and they give me great comfort.

Writing I enjoyed the writing style this author has. The descriptions were wonderful and created a beautiful, and sometimes gory image in your head. The pacing was good although somewhat confusing at times. I also felt on occasion details were left out that could have been valuable in capturing certain moments within the book. Overall though, I found the writing to flow nicely.

Characters YES! I absolutely loved the characters Sue Lynn Tan developed in this novel. Xingyin is a fierce, strong, and capable woman who is certain of what she wants. Determination is something she never falls short of. Her wit and attitude leads to some entertaining dialogue. Her friendship with Liwei was one of my favourite things about this book. It was absolutely adorable. However, I do think that more could have been done tension-wise between the two and I think the growth of their relationship could have been explored more. I adored Wenzhi, the love triangle in this is certainly a tricky one. Yes, that trope is repeated time and time again but does it ever really get old? I found myself in a constant inner conflict with him. Even in moments where adoration was unwarranted I found myself rooting for him. The Dragons were also such bewildering creatures to me and I loved their presence in the story.

Plot This book felt like a plethora of plots combined to create a masterpiece. It was one filled with action, betrayal, love, friendship, hope, and bloodshed. So much happens in this book which is a point I would like to emphasize. It is a lot to take in yet, exhilarating at the same time. I found this to be quite fun but you sort of get lost in the action. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing though, it made the pace of the book quite quick which I think is just as valuable an experience as a slower book.

Engagement I was engaged in this novel easily from start to finish. This book guided be through this amazing world with creatures so graceful, and so foul. I found myself reading late into the night unable to peel my eyes from the page. I would fight sleep just to see what would happen next or what magical journey Xingyin would embark upon.

Overall Overall I thought this book was an exciting one to say the least and very creative. I can’t speak to the accuracy and representation of Chinese Mythology because I am not very educated on the topic. The book was a whirlwind of emotions. It was definitely a fun read and I highly recommend giving it a try. It is being released soon, January 11, so it is the perfect time to add it to your TBR.


Thank you so much HarperCollins for providing me an ARC of this book!


Content Warning: Violence, Blood, Death

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page